Wisconsin Supreme Court accepts two new cases

Madison, Wisconsin - February 19, 2019

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has voted to accept two new cases, and the Court acted to deny review in a number of other cases. The case numbers, counties of origin, and issues presented in granted cases are listed below. More detailed synopses of the granted cases will be released at a later date. More information about pending appellate cases can be found on the Wisconsin Supreme Court and Court of Appeals Access website. Published Court of Appeals opinions can be found here, and the status of cases pending in the Supreme Court can be found here.


2017AP1894-CR    State v. Stephan I. Roberson

Supreme Court case type: Petition for Review
Court of Appeals: District IV
Circuit Court: Wood County, Judge Nicholas J. Brazeau Jr., reversed and cause remanded
Long caption: State of Wisconsin, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. Stephan I. Roberson, Defendant-Respondent-Petitioner

Issue presented: Whether identifications made out-of-court using a single photo are "showups" and inadmissible absent a showing of necessity.


2018AP1129    City of Cedarburg v. Ries B. Hansen

Supreme Court case type: Bypass
Court of Appeals: District II
Circuit Court: Ozaukee County, Judge Paul V. Malloy
Long caption: City of Cedarburg, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. Ries B. Hansen, Defendant-Respondent

Issue presented: This Court held in City of Eau Claire v. Booth, 2016 WI 65, 370 Wis 2d. 595, 882 N.W.2d 738, that when a circuit court handles a first offense OWI that is mischarged due to an unknown prior offense, it is a defect in the circuit court's competency but not the circuit court's subject matter jurisdiction. Id. at ¶1.  Accordingly, a defendant must timely object to the circuit court's lack of competency or the objection is forfeited. Id. Is the same true when the mischarged OWI is in a municipal court?


Review denied: The Supreme Court denied review in the following cases. As the state's law-developing court, the Supreme Court exercises its discretion to select for review only those cases that fit certain statutory criteria (see Wis. Stat. § 809.62). Except where indicated, these cases came to the Court via petition for review by the party who lost in the lower court:

17AP1682     Rosneck v. WERC

17AP2003-CR     State v. Smith

Fond du Lac
17AP774-CR     State v. Brown—Justice Ann Walsh Bradley dissents.

17AP1504     State v. Simpson

Green Lake
16AP2350     Quick v. Deichsel

17AP1915-CRNM     State v. Newman

17AP1342-44-CRNM     State v. Reed

La Crosse
17AP1098     M.S.G. v. J.L.H.—Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack concurs and is joined by Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler and Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley.

17AP1378-CR     State v. Hesser

16AP1187-CRNM     State v. Hobbs
16AP1562-CRNM     State v. Hennings
16AP2286-87-CRNM     State v. Jackson
17AP675-76-CR     State v. Harris—Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet did not participate.
17AP1121-CR     State v. Feliciano
17AP1353-CR     State v. Benson—Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet did not participate.
17AP1396-CR     State v. Greer—Justice Ann Walsh Bradley and Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet dissent.
17AP1771     State v. R. D. S.
17AP1849-CR     State v. Rodriguez
17AP1924-CR     State v. Terrell
17AP1967     State v. Townsend—Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet did not participate.
17AP2134-CR     State v. Allen
17AP2325     Tietjen v. Milwaukee County—Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack and Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet did not participate.
17AP2389-CR     State v. Brown
18AP296-CR     State v. Kyles

17AP249     State v. Trattner
17AP2280-CR     State v. Dixon

17AP2462-CR     State v. Smith


17AP1074-CR     State v. Williams

17AP1764-65-CR     State v. Wagner

17AP1088-CR     State v. Solomon
17AP1570     State v. Borzych
17AP2437-CR     State v. Eggum

St. Croix
17AP1567     Olson v. Wisconsin Mutual
19AP73-W     Gregerson v. Circuit Court for St. Croix County

16AP2390-CR     State v. Olson
17AP920-CR     State v. Kuenn
17AP1213-CR     State v. Thomas
17AP2086-CR     State v. Gehner

17AP2040-CR     State v. Deichsel
18AP51     George v. Hepp
18AP273     Winnebago County v. M.R.R.

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to current headlines