Headlines archive


Wood County Circuit Court judge selected to head Committee of Chief Judges

Madison, Wisconsin - July 11, 2017

Chief Judge Gregory J. Potter, Wood County Circuit Court, has been selected by his fellow chief judges from across the state to chair the Committee of Chief Judges, effective Aug. 1. Potter will replace outgoing committee chair, Chief Judge Scott R. Needham, St. Croix County Circuit Court, who is wrapping up a one-year term at the post. Potter is chief judge of the Sixth Judicial Administrative District, which includes Adams, Clark, Columbia, Dodge, Green Lake, Juneau, Marquette, Portage, Sauk, Waushara, and Wood counties.

The committee chair presides over approximately seven committee meetings per year. The Committee of Chief Judges is composed of one chief judge from each of the state’s 10 judicial administrative districts. Working with the district court administrator, the chief judge is responsible for the administration of judicial business in circuit and municipal courts within the district. As needed, the chief judges convene subcommittees to consider administrative issues, address problems and find solutions to improve operation of the trial courts.

"I'm honored to be selected to serve in this role and to have the opportunity to work with so many knowledgeable judges. This group plays a key role in ensuring our circuit courts run smoothly and effectively," Potter said.

Potter, who has served as a chief judge since 2012, was appointed to the Wood County bench in 2001, elected in 2002 and re-elected in 2008 and 2014. He served as Wood County district attorney from 1987 to 2000 and worked in private practice from 1984 to 1987.

The Supreme Court announced Needham’s re-appointment as chief judge of the Tenth Judicial Administrative District in Northwest Wisconsin earlier this year. The committee chair traditionally serves one year in that position.

Needham was first elected to the St. Croix County bench in 1994 and has been re-elected three times. The Tenth Distirct includes Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Burnett, Chippewa, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Polk, Rusk, St. Croix, Sawyer, and Washburn counties.

More information about the Committee of Chief Judges, including a list of current chief judges and deputy chief judges, can be found here.

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to headlines archive 2017