Headlines archive


Judge VanDeHey appointed chief judge of the Seventh Judicial Administrative District

Madison, Wisconsin - September 12, 2016

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has appointed Deputy Chief Judge Robert P. VanDeHey, Grant County Circuit Court, chief judge of the Seventh Judicial Administrative District. VanDeHey, who replaces outgoing Chief Judge James J. Duvall, has served as deputy chief judge of the Seventh Judicial Administrative District  since 2013. The district encompasses Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa,  Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau, and  Vernon counties. 

VanDeHey was first appointed to the Grant County bench in 1998. Prior  to that, he worked as an attorney in private practice. VanDeHey is a  member of the Wisconsin Judicial Council and chair of the Probate  Benchbook Committee. He has served in a variety of court-related  positions, including as a member of the Juvenile Jury Instruction  Committee and as a faculty member of both the Juvenile Law Institute and  Judicial Conference. Earlier this year, VanDeHey was selected as “Judge  of the Year” by the State Bar of Wisconsin.

Duvall, who presides over Buffalo and Pepin County Circuit courts,  served as chief judge from August 2013 to Sept. 1. He will be focusing  more time on implementing evidence-based practices, alternatives to  incarceration, and pretrial and diversion efforts.  VanDeHey’s appointment was effective Sept. 8 and will continue to July  31, 2017 or until further order of the Court. More information about  chief judges can be found here (https://www.wicourts.gov/courts/committees/chiefjudges.htm).

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to headlines archive 2016