Headlines archive


J. Denis Moran appointed interim director of state courts

Madison, Wisconsin - May 28, 2015

The Wisconsin Supreme Court has appointed former Director of State Courts J. Denis Moran to serve as interim Director of State Courts, effective June 4, through Dec. 4, 2015, Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack announced today.

 Moran previously served as director from Oct. 1, 1978 until his retirement on May 31, 2003. One of Moran’s responsibilities will be to help recruit a new permanent Director of State Courts.

 “We are fortunate to again be able to take advantage of Denis’ experience and administrative knowledge of the court system. His input will be extremely valuable to the Court and all the people we serve,” Roggensack said.

 Moran was the court system’s first director following the court reorganization of 1978. He is one of only two people to have held the post. Former Director of State Courts A. John Voelker left the court system in July 2014 to become deputy secretary of the Wisconsin Department of Employee Trust Funds.

 In 2002, Moran was honored with the National Association for Court Management’s Award of Merit. The award is given for “leadership and excellence in the advancement of the ideals and principles of modern judicial management and professional court management.”

 Retired Supreme Court Justice Jon P. Wilcox, who served on the Court from 1992 to 2007, said: “I had the pleasure of working with Denis Moran for 10 years. He is an effective leader and is nationally recognized as an outstanding court administrator.”

Back to headlines archive 2015