Headlines archive

Iowa County Circuit Court Judge William D. Dyke elected 'Chief of the Chiefs'

Madison, Wisconsin - August 20, 2012

Chief Judge William D. DykeWisconsin's Committee of Chief Judges has elected Chief Judge William D. Dyke, Iowa County Circuit Court, as "chief of the chiefs." In this capacity, Dyke serves as chair of the group of 10 chief judges, each of whom is selected by the Wisconsin Supreme Court to help oversee a judicial administrative district.

Dyke is chief judge of the Seventh Judicial District, which encompasses Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe, Pepin, Pierce, Richland, Trempealeau and Vernon counties.

As a circuit court judge in Iowa County, Judge Dyke has overseen a variety of innovative outreach and diversion programs. In 2008, he recruited local attorneys with backgrounds in real estate, business and tax law to serve as volunteer mediators in foreclosure cases.

Under his leadership, Iowa County became one of five counties in the state participating in Assess, Inform and Measure (AIM) to help assess the needs and risks of criminal offender. He also created a teen court in Iowa County and has served as a member of the Effective Justice Strategies Subcommittee of the Supreme Court's Planning, Policy and Advisory Committee. Judge Dyke was appointed in 1997 and has been re-elected since 1998.

Working as a team with a deputy chief judge and a professional court administrator, chief judges manage the flow of cases, supervise personnel, develop budgets, and meet monthly as a committee to work on issues of statewide importance.

"I am honored to have been selected by my colleagues for this role. The Committee of Chief Judges helps keep the Wisconsin court system running smoothly," Dyke said.

Dyke’s term as chair of the committee of chief judges began Aug. 11, 2012 and runs until a successor is named by the committee. Dyke succeeds as chair of the Committee of Chief Judges, Chief Judge C. William Foust, Dane County Circuit Court. Foust continues to serve on the Dane County bench and as a member of the Committee of Chief Judges.

Back to headlines archive 2012