Headlines archive


New committee member selected for Government Accountability Board's Candidate Committee

Madison, Wisconsin - March 21, 2007

District III Court of Appeals' Judge Gregory A. Peterson was selected today to serve as a member of the Government Accountability Board's Candidate Committee. He'll replace District 3 Chief Judge Thomas Cane, who is retiring from the bench July 31.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson announced the selection of Peterson's name, which was drawn from a hat during a ceremony in the Supreme Court hearing room at the state Capitol.

The committee includes one judge each from the state's four Court of Appeals' districts. District III is located in Wausau. Other members of the committee include:

  • District I (headquartered in Milwaukee): Judge Patricia S. Curley
  • District II (headquartered in Waukesha): Judge Neal P. Nettesheim
  • District IV (headquartered in Madison): Judge Margaret J. Vergeront

The Candidate Committee's first task will be to submit to the governor the names of at least eight qualified individuals to serve on the Government Accountability Board. From the list submitted by the committee, the governor is required to submit three nominees to the Assembly and the three other nominees to the Senate for confirmation.

The Board replaces the current State Elections Board and State Ethics Board and will be responsible for administering the state's election, campaign-finance, ethics and lobbying laws.

A brief biography of each judge can be found on the Wisconsin Court System Web site.

More information on GAB can be found on Wisconsin Legislative Council's Web site.

For more information contact:
Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to headlines archive 2007