Headlines archive

Chief Justice Abrahamson honored with 2010 John Marshall Award

Madison, Wisconsin - August 12, 2010

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson received the 2010 John Marshall Award at the American Bar Association’s (ABA) Annual Dinner in Honor of the Judiciary on Aug. 6 at The Palace Hotel in San Francisco.

The award is named after the fourth chief justice of the United States, who is credited with establishing the independence of the judiciary and enhancing its moral authority. Now marking its 10th year, the award was established by the ABA’s Justice Center to recognize those dedicated to the improvement of the administration of justice.

American Bar Association President Carolyn B. Lamm poses with Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson and the 2010 John Marshall Award during ceremonies in San Francisco.

The award was presented by ABA President Carolyn Lamm, who recognized Abrahamson for her exemplary lifelong commitment and dedication to the improvement of the administration of justice.

“Shirley Abrahamson is a role model for lawyers and judges and has truly made our justice system better. Her distinguished career and record of achievement make her a natural and most deserving recipient of the John Marshall Award,” Lamm said.

Abrahamson has proven her dedication to the law and to the profession by her many years of leadership of the Wisconsin judiciary, as well as many other national judicial and legal organizations, Lamm said.

Judge Mary Schroeder of the U.S. Court of Appeals 9th Circuit, and chair of the John Marshall Award Committee, also has recognized Abrahamson as a role model to lawyers and judges throughout the country.

During remarks at the ceremony, Abrahamson discussed the importance of judicial independence, access to justice, civic education, and the need to continue advancing these efforts in difficult economic times. Wisconsin is considered a leader nationally in these areas, Abrahamson said.

“I am honored to have received this award. It also serves as recognition of the efforts of many professionals, who work tirelessly to improve our courts and system of justice in Wisconsin and throughout the country” Abrahamson said.

Additional information on the John Marshall Award can be found through the ABA here. Information on the history of the award can be found here.

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to headlines archive 2010