

Supreme Court of Wisconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Timothy M. Barber Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

June 20, 2024

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Via E-mail Distribution

Re: Rule Petition 24-01, In the matter of the Amendment of SCR 32.08(2), Reserve Judge per Diem for Judicial Education

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 24-01, In the matter of the Amendment of SCR 32.08(2), Reserve Judge per Diem for Judicial Education, filed on May 15, 2024, by the Executive Committee of the Association of Reserve Judges. This rule petition asks the court to amend Supreme Court Rule (SCR) 32.08 to provide that reserve judges are entitled to a per diem payment (as well as expenses) for attending certain required judicial education seminars.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization potentially have an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending/2401.htm.

At a closed conference on June 17, 2024, the court voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing at a date to be determined for the fall of 2024. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by July 22, 2024, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. Additionally, please e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your comment to <u>clerk@wicourts.gov</u>. Please see the comment guidelines at the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/process.htm. The petitioner may file any response to the comments by August 5, 2024.

You might wish to consult the court's website at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/index.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by e-mail at *tim.barber@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Timothy M. Barber
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet
Justice Brian K. Hagedorn
Justice Jill J. Karofsky
Justice Janet C. Protasiewicz
Reserve Judge Sarah O'Brien

List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules

Badger State Sheriffs' Association, Attention: Executive Director Board of Administrative Oversight, Attention: Denis Donohoe, Chair

Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges

Circuit Court Judges

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Samuel A. Christensen

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Director of State Courts, Honorable Audrey K. Skwierawski

Deputy Director of State Courts, Office of Court Operations: Holly Szablewski

Court Operations: Ann Olson, Krista Miller, Amber Peterson, Trent Koerner, Meg Sternitzky

Department of Administration, State Prosecutors Office

District Court Administrators

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Rebecca Hogan, R.J. Pirlot, Adam Jordahl

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: Deedee Peterson, Executive Director

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Colleen Foley, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney, Dean

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Timothy Samuelson, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Katie York

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Adam Plotkin

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Josh L. Kaul

Preliminary Review Committee, Attention: Barry Boline, Chair

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Advocacy & Access to Justice Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Dean Dietrich, President

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Margaret Hickey, Past-President

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Ryan M. Billings, President-Elect

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Daniel Tokaji, Dean; Myra Sun, Exec. Asst.

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Winn S. Collins

Wisconsin Asian American Bar Association, Attention: Julius Kim, President

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director; Jim Rogers, Government Affairs Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Kris Cleven, Vice President-Legal

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Regina Kolbow, Stacy Kleist

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jenni Kilpatrick, Executive Director; Andrew Hebl, President

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Deputy Family Court Commissioners; Lisa Krueger, Family Court Commissioner; Elizabeth Pfeuffer, Family Court Commissioner; Peggy Miller, Family Court Commissioner

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Pamela M. Ritger

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Beth Ann Richlen, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: William C. Gleisner, III, Chair

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Appellate Procedure Committee: Hon. Thomas M. Hruz, Chair

Wisconsin Justice Initiative, Inc., Attention: Margo Kirchner

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Lisa Milella

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association

Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: Sandy Schueller

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr.

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gwendolyn Topping, President