

Supreme Court of Wisconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

February 21, 2020

To: Wisconsin Circuit Court Judges

Re: Rule Petition 19-22, In the Matter of Amending Supreme Court Rules 32.002, 32.01,

32.04, 32.05, 32.06, 32.07, 32.08 (1), 60.05 (8), 60.07 (2), 75.01, and 75.05 (3) Pertaining to Continuing Education for the Wisconsin Judiciary and Circuit Court

Commissioners (Judicial Education Requirements)

Dear Wisconsin Circuit Court Judges:

I write regarding rule petition 19-22, filed on November 8, 2019 by the Honorable Jason Rossell, on behalf of the Chief Judges' Subcommittee on Judicial Education. On January 23, 2020, you received a letter inviting you to comment on this petition. I write as a follow-up because this petition asks this court to amend several rules relating to judicial education. Among other things, it would require every new circuit court judge to receive education on matters concerning child welfare, and would modify education credit requirements for reserve judges and part-time circuit court commissioners. As of the date of this letter, the court has received two comments which can be viewed at https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/1922.htm. In view of the relevance of this petition to Wisconsin judges, the deadline for judges to submit comments is extended until Monday, March 2, 2020.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. The petitioner may file any response to the comments by March 5, 2020 and may request an extension, as needed.

If you have specific questions please don't hesitate to contact me by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack

Justice Ann Walsh Bradley

Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler

Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley

Justice Daniel Kelly

Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet

Justice Brian K. Hagedorn

Honorable Jason Rossell