

# Supreme Court of Misconsin

#### OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

Telephone (608) 266-7442

August 22, 2019

To: Interested Persons - See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 19-10, In the Matter of the Petition of the OLR Process Review Committee's Subcommittee on Reinstatement for an Order Amending Supreme Court Rules 21.16(1m)(a) and 22.29(2) (OLR Permanent Revocation)

### Greetings:

In 2016, the Wisconsin Supreme Court established a committee to review Office of Lawyer Regulation (OLR) procedures and structure ("Committee"), and directed the Committee to report to the Court recommendations that would increase the efficiency, effectiveness, and fairness of the OLR process. The Honorable Gerald P. Ptacek was appointed as the Committee's chair. In October 2018, the Committee forwarded its final report to the Court. On March 13, 2019, the Committee filed nine administrative rule petitions, proposing various changes to existing OLR rules and procedures. This letter pertains to one of those rule petitions.

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 19-08 filed March 13, 2019, by Judge Ptacek, Chair, on behalf of the Committee, and by Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Chair, Reinstatement Subcommittee. The petition asks the court to amend SCR 21.16(1m)(a) and SCR 22.29(2) to permit the court to order permanent revocation of an attorney's license to practice law.

You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found on the court's website at <a href="https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm">https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm</a>.

At the closed rules conference on June 6, 2019, the court conducted a preliminary discussion of this matter and voted to obtain written comments and schedule a public hearing. The public hearing will be conducted on October 29, 2019. Please note, the court may take any action on a rule petition it deems appropriate, including any of the following

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (d) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.

(e) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by September 17, 2019, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. *See* comment guidelines at the court's website at *https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioners may file any response to the comments by October 1, 2019.

You might wish to consult the court's website at <a href="https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm">https://www.wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm</a> to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the website.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at 608-261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours,
/s/
Julie Anne Rich
Supreme Court Commissioner

cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack
Justice Ann Walsh Bradley
Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler
Justice Rebecca Grassl Bradley
Justice Daniel Kelly
Justice Rebecca Frank Dallet
Justice Brian K. Hagedorn
Judge Gerald P. Ptacek
Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Chair, Reinstatement Subcommittee

## List of Interested Persons for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director

Board of Administrative Oversight, Attention: Joseph M. Russell, Chair

Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney

Court of Appeals Judges

Deputy Director of Court Operations, Diane M. Fremgen

Court Operations, Kat Carpenter

Court Operations, Ann Olson

Dean Dietrich, Attorney

Clerk of Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, Sheila T. Reiff

Director of State Courts, Honorable Randy Koschnick

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Hamilton Consulting Group, Attention: Andrew C. Cook

Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: David Pifer, Executive Director

Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Colleen Foley, Executive Director

Marquette University Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Jeremy C. Perri

Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Terri Surita

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Larry Martin, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Jill M. Kastner, President

Steven Levine, Attorney

University of Wisconsin Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Ann Peacock

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jessica Butler

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever

Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Susan Schaubel

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Rose Oswalk Poels, CEO

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Penny Carter

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Marcie Rainbolt

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Greta Mattison, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: David Pruhs, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Cynthia Herber

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: Thomas W. Bertz

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Samuel Christensen

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Robert Kupfer

Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association

Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association, Attention: Sandy Schueller

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: John Gelhard

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Gregory Gill, Jr. Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Eugene White-Fish, President

\*\*\*\*\*\*

## Additional Interested Persons

Gerald P. Ptacek, Chair, OLR Procedure Review Committee Jacquelynn B. Rothstein, Chair, Reinstatement and Referees Subcommittees Paul Schwarzenbart, Chair, Charging Process Subcommittee Marsha Mansfield, Chair, OLR Process Subcommittee Joseph Ranney, Chair, Confidentiality Subcommittee