

Shirley S. Abrahamson Chief Justice Ann Walsh Bradley N. Patrick Crooks David T. Prosser, Jr. Patience Drake Roggensack Annette Kingsland Ziegler Michael J. Gableman Justices

Supreme Court of Misconsin

16 East State Capitol P.O. Box 1688 Madison, Wisconsin 53701-1688

> Telephone (608) 266-1880 Facsimile (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

A. John Voelker Director of State Courts

A. John Voelker Acting Clerk of Supreme Court

July 15, 2010

To:

Interested Parties (See Attached)

Re: Supreme Court Rule Matter 06-04 and 06-04A, <u>In the matter of review of amendments to</u> SCR 20:1.15

Greetings,

On May 27, 2010, the Wisconsin Supreme Court further amended the trust account rule under Supreme Court Rule (SCR) 20:1.15 regarding alternative protection for advanced fees and the exception for fee and cost advances by credit card. The amendments to SCR 20:1.15(b)(4m) and 20:1.15(e)(4)h. are effective January 1, 2011, but are subject to revision if the court receives comments and further proposed changes that would necessitate a public hearing in the fall of 2010. You are receiving this letter because you may have expressed an interest in this matter or you provided the court with valuable input on the petition.

A brief summary of the history of this rule petition (rule no. 06-04) begins in 2006. The Office of Lawyer Regulation and the State Bar of Wisconsin filed a joint petition on May 22, 2006, proposing certain modifications to the "trust account rule," SCR 20:1.15. On January 17, 2007, the court held a public hearing on rule petition number 06-04. On April 12, 2007, the court voted 6 to 1 to adopt the petition, with modifications. Justice Bradley dissented from that portion of the petition permitting alternative protection for advanced fees, SCR 20:1.15(b)(4m). A copy of the court's order dated May 2, 2007, is available on the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/supreme/sc_hearing_rules.jsp. The effective date of the amendments was July 1, 2007, and the court agreed to review the amendments in three years. On November 12, 2009, the court issued an order scheduling a review of the 2007 amendments and requested comments. On May 10, 2010, the court held an administrative conference. The court reviewed the proposed amendments. A copy of the court's order (06-04A) dated May 27, 2010, is available on the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/supreme/sc_hearing_rules.jsp.

Please file any written comments on the 2010 rule amendments by August 15, 2010. All comments should be filed with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. A Microsoft Word version of any comment shall be e-mailed to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov.





Page 2 Rules Petition No. 06-04

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me or my assistant, Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours,

Sherese M Quens

Theresa M. Owens Executive Assistant

TMO/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: James C. Boll State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Adam Korbitz List of Interested Parties Rule 06-04 review

BY E-MAIL:

Kent A. Tess-Mattner Tracey Wood Carlton D. Stansbury Susan A. Hansen Gregory O'Meara Steven Levine Michael Olds Diane Diel David Reddy Robert E. Barnes D. Michael Guerin Lawton & Cates Dean Dietrich De Ette Tomlinson John H. Lhost Jonathan LaVoy Peter C. Rotter Charles I. Phillips Cheryl A. Gemignani Thomas J. Marola Peter John Hoeper Frederick L. Zievers Philip E. Marry Geoffrey Dowse

Cassel Villarreal Lisa Derr Ronald Jaskolski James Jaskolski Patricia L. Grove Dennis M. Milbrath Catherine M. Thomas Richard Lawson Thomas R. Glowacki Kristina L. Thelen Kris Wenzel **Timothy Pierce** Barry S. Cohen Mary Hoeft Smith Daniel L. Shneidman Sheila L. Romell Leonard G. Leverson George A. Dionisopoulos

BY MAIL:

Murphy Desmond Gerald E. Connolly Mickey F. Biedermann Wisconsin Bankers Association