In the Matter of the Amendment of

Supreme Court Rules:  SCR 10.04 and        ORDER

.05 -- Officers and Board of Governors     No. 96-06

of State Bar



     On March 22, 1996, the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Wisconsin filed a petition for the amendment of the Supreme Court Rules, SCR 10.04 and .05, to include the immediate past-president of the State Bar as an officer and as a member of the Board of Governors of the State Bar.  Because newly-elected officers of the State Bar will commence their terms on July 1, 1996, and time does not permit the holding of a public hearing on the petition prior to that date, the court has determined it appropriate to adopt the proposed rule amendments to become effective on that date and permit objections to rule adoption to be filed with the clerk of the court within 30 days of publication of notice of the adoption in the Wisconsin Lawyer.  The court will consider any objections filed in that time and will take further action as may be appropriate. 

     IT IS ORDERED that, effective July 1, 1996, the Supreme Court Rules are amended as follows: 

     1.  SCR 10.04 (1) and (2) (b) are amended to read: 

     (1)  Titles; Nominations and Elections.  The officers of the state bar include a president, a president-elect, an immediate past-president, a chairperson of the board of governors, a secretary and a treasurer, who shall be nominated and elected in the manner provided by the bylaws.  Only active members of the state bar residing and practicing law in Wisconsin are eligible to serve as officers of the association.  The term of office of the president, president-elect, immediate past-president and chairperson of the board of governors is one year.  The term of the secretary and the treasurer is 2 years, with the secretary elected in even-numbered years and the treasurer elected in odd-numbered years.  The term of each officer runs until the qualification of a successor. 

     (2) (b)  President-elect and past-president.  The president-elect and immediate past-president shall each be a member-at-large of the board of governors and the executive committee and shall perform all other duties assigned to him or her them by the president or board of governors or under these rules or the bylaws.  At the expiration of the one-year term of office of the president, the president-elect shall succeed to the office of president and the president shall succeed to the office of immediate past-president.    2.  SCR 10.05 (1) is amended to read: 

     (1)  Composition of board.  The affairs of the association shall be managed and directed by a board of governors consisting of the 5 6 officers of the association and the immediate past president of the association, all of whom shall be ex officio members-at-large of the board, not fewer than 34 members elected from the state bar districts established under sub. (2), one member selected by the young lawyers division pursuant to its bylaws, one member selected by the government lawyers division pursuant to its bylaws, three governors selected by the nonresident lawyers division pursuant to its bylaws, and three nonlawyers appointed by the supreme court for staggered two-year terms.  No person appointed by the supreme court shall serve more than two consecutive full terms.  The rights and powers of the ex officio members of the board are the same as those of elected members.  All past-presidents of the Wisconsin bar association or of the state bar of Wisconsin, the Wisconsin state delegate to the American Bar Association house of delegates and the deans of the Marquette university and university of Wisconsin law schools are entitled to floor privileges, but without voting privileges. 

     IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that notice of these amendments of the Supreme Court Rules shall be given by a single publication of a copy of this order in the official state newspaper and in an official publication of the State Bar of Wisconsin. 

     Dated at Madison, Wisconsin, this 12th day of April, 1996.

                        BY THE COURT: 



                        Marilyn L. Graves, Clerk