



## Supreme Court of Misconsin

110 East Main Street, Suite 215 P.O. Box 1688 Madison, WI 53701-1688

> TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > October 11, 2016

## To:

Hon. Julie Genovese Circuit Court Judge, Br. 13 215 South Hamilton, Rm. 8103 Madison, WI 53703

Carlo Esqueda Clerk of Circuit Court 215 South Hamilton, Rm. 1000 Madison, WI 53703

Anthony J. Jurek 6907 University Ave., Ste. 191 Middleton, WI 53562-2767 Corey C. Stephan Asst. District Attorney 215 South Hamilton, Rm. 3000 Madison, WI 53703

Gregory M. Weber Assistant Attorney General P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707-7857

Andrew J. Meinholz 522295 Waupun Corr. Inst. P.O. Box 351 Waupun, WI 53963-0351

You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following order:

No. 2013AP2732-CRNM State v. Meinholz L.C.#2010CF1226

Attorney Anthony J. Jurek filed a no-merit report pursuant to Wis. Stat. § (Rule) 809.32(1) on behalf of defendant-appellant, Andrew Meinholz, in the court of appeals. On March 31, 2015, the court of appeals summarily affirmed the judgment of conviction and relieved Attorney Jurek of further representation. On April 30, 2015, Attorney Jurek filed a motion seeking a ruling on the competency of Andrew Meinholz. On May 14, 2015, this court construed that motion as a timely but nonconforming petition for review. On December 2, 2015, this court remanded the matter to the Dane County circuit court for a determination of postconviction competency. Attorney Jurek was appointed to represent Andrew Meinholz in the circuit court proceedings on remand. On May 25, 2016, Attorney Jurek informed the court that the circuit court determined that Andrew Meinholz is not competent to exercise his right to file a statement in support of a petition for review. Accordingly,

Page Two October 11, 2016 No. 2013AP2732-CRNM

State v. Meinholz L.C.#2010CF1226

IT IS ORDERED that the timely but nonconforming petition for review shall be held in abeyance until such time as Andrew J. Meinholz attains competency.

Kelly, J., did not participate in this order.

Diane M. Fremgen Clerk of Supreme Court