Headlines archive

Justice Teaching Institute to host 23 Wisconsin teachers

Madison, Wisconsin - February 26, 2007

Twenty-three middle school and high school teachers from around Wisconsin have been chosen to participate in the state’s eighth annual Justice Teaching Institute to be held Thursday-Saturday, March 1-3, in Madison (see below for list of participants).

The intensive, three-day program gives educators a variety of new tools for teaching about the courts and the justice system in a way that is relevant and interesting to their students.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Justices N. Patrick Crooks and Louis B. Butler Jr. will teach at the Institute along with Waukesha County Circuit Court Judge Ralph M. Ramirez. Members of the Supreme Court will join State Bar executives and UW faculty members in welcoming the teachers to Madison at a Thursday evening reception.

The faculty also includes: University of Wisconsin Professor Diana Hess, who regularly teaches at a similar institute at the U.S. Supreme Court; Lee Arbetman, a national expert on civic education from Washington, D.C. and director of U.S. programs for Street Law, Inc., a group whose textbooks are used in many Wisconsin schools; Municipal Court Judges Derek Mosley and Thomas J. Alisankus; Court of Appeals Staff Atty. Ron Hofer, an internationally known speaker and educator, and Supreme Court Commissioner Julie A. Rich; Appellate Public Defender Ellen Henak; and many others.

The Institute is a joint effort of the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Law-Related Education Committee, the Wisconsin Supreme Court, the University of Wisconsin Department of Curriculum and Instruction, the Wisconsin Law Foundation, and the Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association.

2007 Justice Teaching Institute Participants

Brown County:
Julie M. Pasowicz
Bay Port High School

Dane County:
Jeanette B. Burda
James Madison Memorial High School

Debora Gil R. Casado
James Madison Memorial High School

Eric Ebert
UW – Madison

Eric Franco
La Follette High School

David Ross
Madison West High School

Janet M. Tuccinardi
Velma Hamilton Middle School

Cindy A. Schepp
James Madison Memorial High School

Door County:
Barry D. Mellen
Sturgeon Bay High School

Eau Claire County:
Patrick C. Gretzlock
Altoona High School

Fond du Lac County:
Michael McDowell
Fond du Lac High School

Kenosha County:
Michael Fiedler
Tremper High School

Milwaukee County:
Jason Goede
WI Lutheran High School

Eugene P. Graham, Jr.
Milwaukee Bay View High School

Char Harteau
WI Conservatory of Lifelong Learning

Laura Tinsen
Martin Luther High School

Outagamie County:
Michael Sommers
Hortonville High School

Mark Weyenberg
Hortonville High School

Ozaukee County:
Hayden Knight
Cedarburg High School

Portage County:
Barb Portzen
Mid-State Technical College

Suzanne Rathe
Mid-State Technical College

Rusk County:
Todd Novakofski
Ladysmith High School

Washington County:
Glenn O. Eichstedt
Kewaskum High School

For more information contact:
Amanda K. Todd
Court Information Officer
(608) 264-6256; (608) 338-8941 - cell
Media are welcome to attend but please call first to arrange.

Supreme Court Justice N. Patrick Crooks

Supreme Court Justice Louis B. Butler Jr.

Circuit Court Judge Ralph M. Ramirez

Back to headlines archive 2007