Headlines archive

Wisconsin teachers to participate in Justice Teaching Institute

Madison, Wisconsin - October 27, 2010

Twenty-two middle school and high school teachers from 10 Wisconsin counties have been selected to participate in the 2010 Justice Teaching Institute to be held Thursday-Friday, Oct. 28-29, in Madison (see below for list of participants).

The intensive, two-day workshop gives educators a variety of new tools for teaching about the courts and the justice system in a way that is relevant and interesting. The goal of the conference is to offer teachers timely insights into constitutional principles debated in society, voted on by the people and legislatures, and being argued in court cases. This year’s institute will explore topics such as the rights of undocumented immigrants and their children, same-sex marriage and race. The conference will also stress innovative teaching methods teachers can use immediately in their classroom.

Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson and Justice N. Patrick Crooks will teach at the institute. Wisconsin Supreme Court justices will welcome the teachers to Madison at a Thursday evening reception. Additional faculty includes UW Law School professor Linda Greene, UW-Madison School of Education professor Diana Hess, Assistant State Public Defender Ellen Henak and state Assistant Attorney General Thomas J. Ballistreri.

The institute is a joint effort of the State Bar of Wisconsin’s Law-Related Education Committee, the Wisconsin Supreme Court, the UW Department of Curriculum and Instruction, the Wisconsin Law Foundation, and the Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association.

More information can be found at: Law-related Education | State Bar of Wisconsin (external link).

2010 Justice Teaching Institute Participants

Burnett County
Grachia Solie - Grantsburg Middle School

Dane County
Sacia Wheeler - James Madison Memorial
Warren Schwab - Sherman Middle School
Kate Arnold - Middleton High School
Sergio Gonzalez - Sennett Middle School

Douglas County
Dale Rajala - Solon Springs High School

Jefferson County
Jennifer Helstad - Johnson Creek High School
Andrea Feutz Anderson - Fort Atkinson High School

Milwaukee County
Mary Talsky - Pius XI High School
Jonathan Schroeder - Bay View High School
Kevin Neale - Bay View High School
Debra Schwinn - Shorewood High School
Jessica Braun - Shorewood High School
Josh Joseph - Vel Phillips School for Art & Media Tech
Briana Jury - Wauwatosa East High School
Anna Herra Ward - Wauwatosa East High School
Christopher Fons – Riverside High School

Oneida County
Frank Keeler - Lakeland Union High School

Outagamie County
Sara Andrew - Xavier High School

Ozaukee County
Hayden Knight - Cedarburg High School

Waukesha County
Matthew Scherbarth - Mukwonago High School

Wood County
David Schleihs - Lincoln High School

Tom Sheehan
Court Information Officer
(608) 261-6640

Back to headlines archive 2010