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You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following opinion and order:

2016AP259-CR State of Wisconsin v. Dustin R. Nap (L.C. #2014CF411)

Before Neubauer, C.J., Reilly, P.J., and Hagedorn, J.

Dustin R. Nap appeals from a nonfinal order concluding that Wis. STAT. § 939.617
(2015-16)* requires that a minimum three-year prison term be imposed against him for violating
Wis. STAT. § 948.12. Based upon our review of the briefs and the record and this court’s

decision in State v. Holcomb, 2016 W1 App 70, 371 Wis. 2d 647, 886 N.W.2d 100, we conclude

L All references to the Wisconsin Statutes are to the 2015-16 version unless otherwise noted.
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at conference that this case is appropriate for summary disposition. Wis. STAT. RULE 809.21.

We affirm the order.

Twenty-seven-year-old Nap was charged with six counts of possession of child
pornography in violation of Wis. STAT. 8§ 948.12(1m). In four of the counts the children
appeared to be seven to ten years old; in the other two counts, they appeared to be ten to thirteen.
Nap filed a motion asking the circuit court to determine whether Wis. STAT. § 939.617, which
provides the minimum penalty for violations of § 948.12, required the imposition of a three-year

mandatory minimum prison sentence.

WISCONSIN STAT. 8 939.617 reads in relevant part:

(1) Except as provided in subs. (2) and (3), if a person is
convicted of a violation of [Wis. STAT. §] 948.12, the court shall
impose a bifurcated sentence under [Wis. STAT. §] 973.01. The
term of confinement in prison portion of the bifurcated sentence
shall be at least ... 3 years for violations of s. 948.12....

(2) If the court finds that the best interests of the community
will be served and the public will not be harmed and if the court
places its reasons on the record, the court may impose a sentence
that is less than the sentence required under sub. (1) or may place
the person on probation under any of the following circumstances:

(b) If the person is convicted of a violation of s. 948.12, the
person is no more than 48 months older than the child who
engaged in the sexually explicit conduct.

(3) This section does not apply if the offender was under 18
years of age when the violation occurred.

Nap argued that the plain language of 8 939.617(2) allows a lesser sentence if the “best interests”
exception is met. The court concluded, however, that as Nap was more than forty-eight months

older than the victims, it was required to impose a sentence of at least three years’ initial
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confinement. See 8 939.617(2)(b). We granted Nap’s petition for leave to appeal that non-final

order. See Wis. STAT. RULE 809.50(3).

This court already has determined that Wis. STAT. 8 939.617 is “plain and unambiguous.”
Holcomb, 371 Wis. 2d 647, 115. As we said in Holcomb,

When faced with a conviction for possessing child pornography
[under Wis. STAT. § 948.12], subsec. (1) requires the court to
impose a bifurcated sentence with at least three years’ initial
confinement. Sec. 939.617(1). Subsection (2) allows the court to
depart from this minimum and impose less initial confinement or
probation only if the defendant is not more than forty-eight months
older than the child-victim. Sec. 939.617(2)(b).

Id. (emphasis added). Like Holcomb, Nap is far older than the victims and thus is subject to the
three-year minimum. Because the statute is unambiguous, the rule of lenity does not apply.

State v. Luedtke, 2015 W1 42, {73, 362 Wis. 2d 1, 863 N.W.2d 592.

Nap also contends Wis. STAT. § 939.617 must be unconstitutionally vague, as Wisconsin
circuit courts have applied it unevenly, and therefore it violates his due process right to fair-
warning notice of the criminal penalty. See State v. Ehlenfeldt, 94 Wis. 2d 347, 355, 288
N.W.2d 786 (1980). “A statute must at least be sufficiently definite to permit one inclined to

obey it, even if for no other reason than to avoid its penalties.” Id.

We will not declare a statute to be unconstitutionally vague if we can give its language
“any reasonable and practical construction.” State v. Thomas, 2004 WI App 115, {14, 274
Wis. 2d 513, 683 N.W.2d 497 (citation omitted). We did so in Holcomb. We conclude that
courts that applied Wis. STAT. 8§ 939.617 differently have misinterpreted its plain language.

Further, the decisions Nap cites from circuit courts around the state that have interpreted the
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statute as he would have us do all predate Holcomb. Nap has no due process right to have either

the circuit court or this court misinterpret and misapply the statute.

Finally, Nap asks that we reconsider our decision in Holcomb and either certify this
appeal to the supreme court or decide his appeal based on Holcomb while stating our belief that
it was wrongly decided. See Cook v. Cook, 208 Wis. 2d 166, 190, 560 N.W.2d 246 (1997). We
stand by our decision and decline to take either path. Reversal of Holcomb was for the supreme

court. Cook, 208 Wis. 2d at 189-90. It denied the petition to review.

Upon the foregoing reasons,

IT IS ORDERED that the order of the circuit court is summarily affirmed. Wis. STAT.

RuULE 809.21.

Diane M. Fremgen
Clerk of Court of Appeals
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