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You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following opinion and order: 

   
   
 2015AP247-CRNM State of Wisconsin v. Leroy Love 

(L.C. # 2013CF2130) 

   

Before Curley, P.J., Kessler and Brennan, JJ. 

Leroy Love appeals from a judgment of conviction for fleeing or attempting to elude a 

traffic officer and for operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s consent.  See WIS. STAT. 

§§ 346.04(3), 943.23(3) (2013-14).
1
  He also appeals an order denying his motion for 

postconviction relief.  Love’s appellate counsel filed a no-merit report pursuant to WIS. STAT. 

RULE 809.32 and Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967).  Love received a copy of the 

                                                 
1
  All references to the Wisconsin Statutes are to the 2013-14 version unless otherwise noted. 
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report, was advised of his right to file a response, and has elected not to do so.  Upon 

consideration of the report and an independent review of the record, we reject the no-merit report 

because an issue of arguable merit is presented by the record and not discussed in the no-merit 

report.  The time for Love to file a postconviction motion under WIS. STAT. RULE 809.30 is 

extended. 

The crimes for which Love was convicted are both felonies and were committed in May 

2013.  On the charge of fleeing or attempting to elude a traffic officer, the circuit court sentenced 

Love to one year and six months of initial confinement with the same amount of time on 

extended supervision.  The circuit court ordered that he serve an identical sentence on the charge 

of operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s consent and ordered the sentences to run 

consecutively. 

Additionally, the circuit court ordered Love to submit a DNA sample, if he had not 

previously done so, and ordered him to pay the surcharges associated with both felonies.
2
  The 

judgment of conviction reflects the imposition of $500 for DNA surcharges (i.e., $250 for each 

                                                 
2
  Love was sentenced in April 2014.  In imposing the DNA surcharge on the charge of fleeing or 

attempting to elude a traffic officer, the circuit court stated: 

I’m going to tell you you are going to have a DNA surcharge—a DNA 

sample taken if one has not been.  I’m assuming one has been.  If that has 

[been] done, well, so be it, you won’t have another DNA sample taken 

but, yes, you’ll still pay the surcharge because that’s the law.  

In imposing the surcharge on the charge of operating a motor vehicle without the owner’s 

consent, the circuit court again stated, “there will be another surcharge that you’re going to have to pay 

because that’s the law.” 
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of the two felonies).  This is consistent with WIS. STAT. § 973.046(1r), which was made 

applicable by 2013 Wis. Act 20, §§ 2355, 9426, to sentences imposed after January 1, 2014.
3
   

An issue of arguable merit exists as to whether the mandatory DNA surcharge imposed 

for crimes committed before the effective date of the statutory change violates the ex post facto 

clause of the Wisconsin and United States Constitutions.  An ex post facto law is one that 

“‘makes more burdensome the punishment for a crime, after its commission.’”  State v. Thiel, 

188 Wis. 2d 695, 703, 524 N.W.2d 641 (1994) (citations and one set of quotation marks 

omitted). 

In State v. Radaj, 2015 WI App 50, 363 Wis. 2d 633, 866 N.W.2d 758, we concluded 

there was an ex post facto violation when the new mandatory DNA surcharge was applied four 

times to a defendant who committed four felonies before the effective date and was sentenced 

after the effective date.  See id., ¶¶1, 3, 7 (italics added).  In this case, Love committed two 

felonies before January 1, 2014, but was sentenced after January 1, 2014.  Following Radaj, 

there appears to be arguable merit to pursue a postconviction motion based on a potential ex post 

facto violation for imposition of a $250 DNA surcharge for each of the two felonies. 

                                                 
3
  WISCONSIN STAT. § 973.046(1r) provides: 

If a court imposes a sentence or places a person on probation, the court 

shall impose a deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge, calculated as 

follows: 

(a) For each conviction for a felony, $250. 

(b) For each conviction for a misdemeanor, $200. 
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The no-merit report does not discuss the mandatory DNA surcharges applied in this case.  

The potential issue with the two DNA surcharges is not currently preserved for appellate review 

in this case because no postconviction motion was filed raising it.  See State v. Barksdale, 160 

Wis. 2d 284, 291, 466 N.W.2d 198 (Ct. App. 1991) (generally a motion to modify a sentence is a 

prerequisite to appellate review of a defendant’s sentence).  We cannot conclude that further 

postconviction proceedings on Love’s behalf lack arguable merit.  Therefore, the no-merit report 

is rejected. 

Upon the foregoing reasons, 

IT IS ORDERED that the WIS. STAT. RULE 809.32 no-merit report is rejected, 

appointed counsel’s motion to withdraw is denied, and this appeal is dismissed. 

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the deadline to file a postconviction motion is 

extended to sixty days from the date of this order. 

 

 
Diane M. Fremgen 

Clerk of Court of Appeals 
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