Navigate this section

The Third Branch

Appointments bring three new judges

Judge Thomas M. Hruz

Judge Thomas M. Hruz

Gov. Scott Walker has named a new judge to the Court of Appeals and new judges to circuit courts in two counties.

Judge Thomas M. Hruz, who spent the last 10 years in private practice, was appointed to the District III Court of Appeals to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Judge Mark A. Mangerson (see Retirements). He received his law degree from Marquette University Law School and clerked for Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice David T. Prosser and Seventh Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals Judge John Coffey. Hruz holds a bachelor's degree in history and political science from UW-Milwaukee and a master's degree in public affairs and public policy analysis from UW-Madison.

"Tom Hruz was a brilliant law clerk who quickly established a reputation as an outstanding attorney," Prosser was quoted as saying in the governor's press release.

Former Milwaukee County Assistant District Attorney T. Christopher Dee was appointed to the Milwaukee County Branch 37 Circuit Court bench.

Dee served as assistant district attorney for 14 years. He has also worked in private practice, as city attorney in Kenosha and Madison, and for the Dane County District Attorney's Office.

"I was extremely impressed by his knowledge, professionalism, and dedication to the children and families of Milwaukee County," Milwaukee County Circuit Court Judge Kevin Martens said in the press release announcing Dee's appointment. "He is well-versed in law, passionate in the pursuit of justice, yet always respectful to other litigants."

Dee received his bachelor's degree in political science from UW-Madison and his law degree from UW Law School. He replaces Judge Karen E. Christenson, who retired Aug. 1 (see The Third Branch, spring 2014).

Judge David P. Wilk

Judge David P. Wilk

Walker named David P. Wilk to serve on the Branch 5 bench in Kenosha County. Wilk replaces Judge Wilbur W. Warren III on the circuit court, who retired Aug. 18 (see The Third Branch, spring 2014).

"I am pleased to appoint David P. Wilk to the Kenosha County bench," Walker said. "Throughout his legal career, David has demonstrated excellence in his legal practice, a strong commitment to serving his community, and steadfast dedication to the rule of law."

Wilk has a B.A. in philosophy from Lawrence University and received his law degree from Hamline University School of Law. He has worked in private practice, specializing in personal injury, worker's compensation, and social security disability.

Back to top

Back to The Third Branch current issue