

Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS

110 E. Main street, suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

August 2, 2012

To: Interested Parties - See Attached List

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 12-05

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 12-05 filed by A. John Voelker, Director of State Courts. The petition proposes amendments to Supreme Court Rules 72.01, 72.03, 72.04, and 72.05, and Wis. Stat. §§ 801.17, 807.06, and 809.15 relating to record retention and electronically or optically stored records. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm.

Consistent with standard practice, the court has scheduled and will conduct a public hearing and an open administrative conference on Wednesday, September 19, 2012, at 9:30 a.m., to discuss this matter further. The court may take any action it deems appropriate, including any of the following:

- (a) Adopt the rule proposed, or a modified version, without further comment.
- (b) Reject the rule proposed without further comment.
- (c) Circulate the rule petition for comment without a public hearing.
- (d) Schedule the rule petition for public hearing.
- (e) Refer the rule petition to another entity for its review and recommendation.
- (f) Request further information or analysis from the petitioner or interested persons or entities.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by August 31, 2012, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or clerk@wicourts.gov. See comment guidelines at the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments received on or before September 10, 2012.

If you are interested in appearing in person at the public hearing please notify Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, by September 10, 2012, at carrie.janto@wicourts.gov or 608-261-4302.

We encourage you to consult regularly the court's Web site at http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the Web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich **Supreme Court Commissioner**

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman

A. John Voelker, Director of State Courts

<u>List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters</u>

Board of Bar Examiners

Chief Circuit Court Judges

Circuit Court Judges

Court of Appeals Judges

Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott

League of Women Voters

Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney

Office of Lawyer Regulation

Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Kevin Klein State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys

State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Natasha Fahey-Flynn

U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond

Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director

Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas

Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Arman S. Rouf

Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director

Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Jazmin Taylor

Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall

Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight

Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf

Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: David Callender

Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andy Cook

Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper, Executive Director

Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Adria D. Maddaleni

Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert

Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander

Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick

Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha

Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney

Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Amy Franzen

Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Francis X. Sullivan

Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Amanda Rockmann, President

Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney

List of Additional Interested Parties – if any

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director

Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: James I. Cardinal, Exec. Dir.

Wisconsin Credit Union League

Wisconsin Land Title Association

Wisconsin Insurance Alliance