Navigate this section

The Third Branch


Anderson's committee work honored

Judge John P. Anderson
Judge John P. Anderson

The Milwaukee Bar Association honored Bayfield County Circuit Court Judge John P. Anderson and Atty. Mary Wolverton with the Distinguished Service Award for their work on the Limited Scope Representation Subcommittee of the Supreme Court's Planning and Policy Advisory Committee (PPAC). The award was presented at the Bar's annual meeting on June 10.

Anderson and Wolverton were appointed co-chairs of the subcommittee by PPAC in 2010. PPAC had identified providing self-represented litigants better access to the legal system as a top priority, and created the subcommittee to study possible initiatives and make recommendations for implementation of limited attorney assistance for self-represented litigants.

The subcommittee examined practices in other states and surveyed Wisconsin judges and court commissioners.

The subcommittee presented its feasibility study and recommendations report to PPAC in August 2011.

In July of 2013, PPAC filed a petition to amend Supreme Court Rule Chapter 20 to include more guidelines for Wisconsin attorneys providing limited scope representation, based on the recommendations of the subcommittee. The Supreme Court held a public hearing on the petition on March 19, and unanimously adopted the petition on April 4. The new rules governing limited scope representation go into effect Jan. 1, 2015.

Judge Ramona A. Gonzalez
Judge Ramona A. Gonzalez

Gonzalez honored as adoption advocate

U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin has named La Crosse County Circuit Court Judge Ramona A. Gonzalez as a 2014 Angel in Adoption awardee. The Angels in Adoption program is overseen by the Congressional Coalition on Adoption Institute (CCAI) to recognize individuals whose work has helped match children with permanent, safe and loving homes. The awards will be presented at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. on Sept. 16.

Established in 1999, the Angels in Adoption program gives members of Congress the opportunity to recognize individuals from around the country.

Gonzalez has served on the La Crosse bench since 1995. During that time, she has overseen the adoption of dozens of children. Prior to taking the bench, she served as a guardian ad litem while working in private practice.

Back to top

Back to The Third Branch current issue