

## Supreme Court of Misconsin

OFFICE OF COURT COMMISSIONERS 110 E. Main Street, Suite 440 Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Telephone (608) 266-7442

Nancy A. Kopp Julie A. Rich David W. Runke Mark A. Neuser Commissioners

January 4, 2016

## To: Interested Parties – See Attached List

Re: Rule Petition 14-03, Petition to create Wis. Stat. § 801.18, relating to mandatory electronic filing in circuit court and conversion to electronic circuit court records.

Greetings:

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 14-03 filed by the Committee of Chief Judges on October 31, 2014, as amended on December 23, 2015. The petition proposes creation of Wis. Stat. § 801.18, relating to mandatory electronic filing in circuit court and conversion to electronic circuit court records. You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's web site at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm*.

The court conducted a public hearing in this matter on Tuesday, March 17, 2015. After extensive discussion at the ensuing open administrative conference, the court voted to discuss the matter again at an open conference in June 2015. In May 2015, the petitioner filed a letter requesting that the matter be removed from the June agenda and discussed at a later date, explaining that work remained to be done on budget and implementation options.

On December 23, 2015, the petitioner filed an amended petition. The court has scheduled this matter for public hearing on February 23, 2016.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by Friday, January 22, 2016, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Deputy Clerk-Rules, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, email a Microsoft Word version of your response to *clerk@wicourts.gov*. See comment guidelines at the court's website at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm*. The petitioner shall file any response to the comments by Wednesday, February 3, 2016.

If you are interested in appearing in person at the public hearing, please notify the Deputy Clerk for Rules by Wednesday, February 3, 2016, at *clerk@wicourts.gov* or 608-261-4302.

You might wish to consult the court's web site at *http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm* to follow this rule petition. Court communications on the petition and any written comments filed with the clerk's office will be posted on the web site.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact me by mail at Post Office Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688, by telephone at (608) 261-6642, or by email at *julie.rich@wicourts.gov*.

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

 cc: Chief Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Justice Rebecca G. Bradley Committee of Chief Judges, Attention: Marcia Vandercook

## List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Badger State Sheriffs Association, Attention: Executive Director Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges Christian Gossett, Winnebago County District Attorney Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Court of Appeals Judges Dean Dietrich, Attorney Diane M. Fremgen, Clerk of Supreme Court Director of State Courts Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Legal Action of Wisconsin Legal Aid Society of Milwaukee, Attention: Kimberly Walker, Executive Director Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation, Attention: Keith Sellen, Director Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: Brad D. Schimel Shelley M. Fite, Attorney State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown, Executive Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Lisa Roys, Public Affairs Director State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Ralph M. Cagle, President Steven Levine, Attorney U.W. Law School, Attention: Margaret Raymond Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Lynn M. Stathas Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Robin Dalton Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Bryan Roessler, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: DeAngela Luna Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Alice Rudebusch Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Pam Radtke Wisconsin Counties Association. Attention: Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki, Executive Director Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Monte Weiss, Amicus Curiae Committee Chair Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Margaret Drees, Executive Director Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Sandra Grady, Exec. Secretary Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: Micabil Diaz Martinez Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Kimberly Haas, Executive Director Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: Jeremiah VanHecke Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Joy Pecha Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Scott Letteney Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Attention: Beth Bennett, Executive Director Wisconsin Registers in Probate Association, Attention: Nancy Dowling Wisconsin Sheriff & Deputy Sheriff Association, Attention: David Graves, Exec. Director Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Nancy Wettersten Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench

Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Eugene White-fish, President

## Additional Interested Parties

CCAP Steering Committee, Attention: Jean Bousquet