

## STATE OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WISCONSIN 53701-1688

CHAMBERS OF CHIEF JUSTICE SHIRLEY S. ABRAHAMSON

STATE CAPITOL, 231 EAST MADISON, WI 53702 (608) 266-1885 FAX: (608) 261-8299

July 31, 2012

Re: Rule petition on Wisconsin Judicial Commission

appointment process

To: Member of the Appointment Selection Committee,

Attached is a rule petition I have filed proposing that the Wisconsin Supreme Court's appointment or reappointment of members to the Wisconsin Judicial Commission be discussed and made in open administrative conference. The memorandum in support accompanies the rule petition and provides my rationale for filing this rule petition. The petition and memorandum in support were filed on July 31, 2012. These documents will be available on the court system's website on the Pending Rules Petitions page at <a href="http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm">http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm</a>.

Any comments on the rule petition should be mailed to the Clerk of the Supreme Court at P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701 or emailed to clerk@wicourts.gov before September 19. Thank you.

This rule petition matter will be scheduled for discussion at the Supreme Court's open rule hearing and open administrative conference scheduled for Wednesday, September 19, 2012. Thank you for all the good work the committee has done over these many years and will continue to do.

Sincerely yours,

/s/

Shirley S. Abrahamson Chief Justice Wisconsin Supreme Court

Attachments

cc:

Judicial Commission:

Atty. Michael J. Aprahamian

Dr. Saied Assef Dr. Mark Barrette Eileen Burnett William E. Cullinan
Atty. John R. Dawson
Lynn M. Leazer
Hon. Emily S. Mueller
Hon. Paul F. Reilly
James Alexander, Executive Director

## Appointment Selection Committee:

Atty. John P. Casey

Atty. Susan A. Hansen (resigned, replacement for atty.

Hansen pending designation by atty.
Anthony J. Menting, Chair of Family Law
Section of the State Bar of Wisconsin)

Atty. Gayle Branaugh Jebbia

Atty. Charles M. Kernats

Atty. Theodore Bernard Kmiec, III

Gail B. Shea

Atty. Thomas M. Kubasta

Atty. James Patrick O'Brien

Atty. Natalie R. Remington

Hon. Amanda Rockman

Sheriff Dan Trawicki (resigned, replacement pending designation by Sen. Fred Risser, Senate Co-Chair of the Legislative Council)

Mr. Charles Tubbs, Sr.