

Shirley S. Abrahamson Chief Justice Ann Walsh Bradley N. Patrick Crooks David T. Prosser, Jr. Patience Drake Roggensack Annette Kingsland Ziegler Michael J. Gableman Justices

Supreme Court of Misconsin

16 EAST STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 1688 Madison, Wisconsin 53701-1688

> Telephone (608) 266-1880 Facsimile (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

A. John Voelker Director of State Courts

A. John Voelker Acting Clerk of Supreme Court

July 8, 2011

To: Interested Parties (see list at pages 2 and 3)

Re: Supreme Court Rule Petition 10-08

Greetings,

I am assisting the Wisconsin Supreme Court with its consideration of rule petition 10-08 filed by John F. Ebbott, Executive Director, Legal Action of Wisconsin, on behalf of various signatories including citizens/residents, judges, and lawyers. The petition seeks an amendment to Supreme Court Rule 11.02 (Appearance by Attorney) to require circuit court judges to appoint attorneys at public expense for indigent persons in certain civil cases (a/k/a "Civil <u>Gideon</u>"). You have received this letter because you or your agency or organization has been identified as potentially having an interest in this matter. A copy of the petition can be found at the court's Web site at <u>http://wicourts.gov/scrules/pending.htm</u>.

Consistent with standard practice, the court has scheduled and will conduct a public hearing and an open administrative conference on Tuesday, October 4, 2011, at 9:30 a.m., to discuss this matter further.

Any comment to the rule petition should be filed by Monday, September 12, 2011, with the Clerk of Supreme Court, Attention: Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688. If possible, e-mail a Microsoft Word version of your response to <u>carrie.janto@wicourts.gov</u> or <u>clerk@wicourts.gov</u>. See comment guidelines at the court's Web site at <u>http://wicourts.gov/scrules/petitioncomment.htm</u>.

If you are interested in appearing in person at the public hearing please notify Carrie Janto, Deputy Clerk, by Monday, September 26, 2011, at <u>carrie.janto@wicourts.gov</u> or 608-261-4302. The petitioner will have approximately 20 minutes to present the petition to the court. Interested parties will each have approximately 5 to 10 minutes to comment on the petition at the public hearing. The Chief Justice may adjust the time periods if a large number of persons register to speak.

You might wish to consult the court's Web site at <u>http://wicourts.gov/scrules/supreme.htm</u> to follow this rule petition.

If you have specific questions or other comments regarding this matter, please contact Susan Gray, c/o Office of the Director of State Courts, P.O. Box 1688, Madison, WI 53701-1688 (telephone: 608-266-6708) (email: susan.gray@wicourts.gov).

Very truly yours, /s/ Julie Anne Rich Supreme Court Commissioner

JAR/skg

cc: Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson Justice Ann Walsh Bradley Justice N. Patrick Crooks Justice David T. Prosser, Jr. Justice Patience Drake Roggensack Justice Annette Kingsland Ziegler Justice Michael J. Gableman Legal Action of Wisconsin, Attention: John F. Ebbott

List of Interested Parties for Supreme Court Rules Matters

Board of Bar Examiners Chief Circuit Court Judges Circuit Court Judges Court of Appeals Judges Court of Appeals, Attention: Chief Staff Attorney Director of State Courts League of Women Voters Marquette Law School, Attention: Joseph D. Kearney Office of Lawyer Regulation Office of State Public Defender, Attention: Kelli S. Thompson Office of the Attorney General, Attention: J.B. Van Hollen State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: James Brennan State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: George Brown State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Adam Korbitz State Bar of Wisconsin, Attention: Margaret Porco U.W. Law School, Attention: Kenneth B. Davis, Jr. Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, Attention: Katy Borowski, Executive Director Western District Bar Association of Wisconsin, Attention: Andrew Clarkowski Wisconsin Asian Bar Association, Attention: Yer L. Vang Wisconsin Association for Justice, Attention: Jane E. Garrott, Executive Director Wisconsin Association of African American Lawyers, Attn: Steven DeVougas Wisconsin Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, Attention: Peter McKeever Wisconsin Association of Judicial Court Commissioners, Attention: Cedric Cornwall Wisconsin Bankers Association, Attention: Attorney John Knight Wisconsin Clerks of Circuit Court Association, Attention: Lonnie Wolf Wisconsin Counties Association, Attention: Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf Wisconsin Defense Counsel, Attention: Jane Svinicki and Andrew C. Cook Wisconsin District Attorneys Association, Attention: Diane Schlipper Wisconsin Family Court Commissioners Association, Attention: Commr. Leo Grill

Wisconsin Hispanic Lawyers Association, Attention: David A. Westrup, Treasurer
Wisconsin Judicare, Inc., Attention: Rosemary Elbert
Wisconsin Judicial Commission, Attention: James Alexander
Wisconsin Judicial Council, Attention: April Southwick
Wisconsin Juvenile Court Clerks Association, Attention: Vicki Gilbertson
Wisconsin Municipal Judges Association, Attention: Honorable JoAnn Eiring
Wisconsin State Attorneys Association, Attention: Quinn Williams/Nancy Wettersten
Wisconsin Trial Judges Association, Attention: Honorable Mary M. Kuhnmuench
Wisconsin Tribal Judges Association, Attention: Leland Wigg-Ninham, President

List of Additional Interested Parties (provided by petitioner)

Honorable Carl Ashley Honorable Thomas Donegan Honorable Jane Carroll Honorable Marshall B. Murray Honorable Michael J. McAlpine Honorable Richard J. Sankovitz Honorable Glenn H. Yamahiro Honorable Frederick C. Rosa Commissioner Michael J. Bruch Commissioner David W. Keck Attorney Winston A. Ostrow Attorney John S. Skilton Attorney Thomas R. Cannon Attorney E. Michael McCann Honorable James A. Gramling, Jr. Honorable Mary E. Triggiano Honorable Andrew Bissonnette Wisconsin Access to Justice Commission, Attention: Gregg M. Moore