

Office of the Clerk Supreme Court of Misconsin

110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. Box 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

> TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > October 13, 2023

To:

Daniel S. Lenz Electronic Notice

Scott B. Thompson Electronic Notice

Elizabeth M. Pierson Electronic Notice Douglas M. Poland Electronic Notice

Jeffrey A. Mandell Electronic Notice

Rachel A. Snyder Electronic Notice

*Distribution List Continued on Pages 3 & 4

You are hereby notified that court has issued the following order:

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Pending before the court are three motions to intervene from the following proposedintervenors: (1) Governor Tony Evers, in his official capacity; (2) Nathan Atkinson, Stephen Joseph Wright, Gary Krenz, Sarah J. Hamilton, Jean-Luc Thiffeault, Somesh Jha, Joanne Kane, and Leah Dudley; and (3) Billie Johnson, Eric O'Keefe, Ed Perkins, Ronald Zahn, Chris Goebel, Robert Jensen, Ruth Elmer, Terry Moulton, Joe Sanfelippo, and Ruth Streck. Each group of proposed-intervenors seeks intervention as a matter of right under Wis. Stat. § 803.09(1), or alternatively, by permission pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 803.09(2).

Intervenor-Respondent Wisconsin Legislature and the Republican Senator Respondents¹ filed a response indicating that they do not oppose any of the intervention motions, but are preserving all arguments and defenses. Petitioners² filed a response indicating that they do not

² Rebecca Clarke, Ruben Anthony, Terry Dawson, Dana Glasstein, Ann Groves-Lloyd, Carl Hujet, Jerry Iverson, Tia Johnson, Angie Kirst, Selika Lawton, Fabian Maldonado,

FILED 10-13-2023 CLERK OF WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT

¹ Senators Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Rob Hutton, Andre Jacque, John Jagler, Jesse L. James, Chris Kapenga, Devin LeMahieu, Howard L. Marklein, Stephen L. Nass, Romaine Robert Quinn, Cory Tomczyk, and Van H. Wanggaard.

Page 2 October 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA <u>Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission</u>

oppose the intervention motions filed by Governor Evers or Nathan Atkinson et al. However, Petitioners suggest that this court should deny the intervention motion filed by Billie Johnson et al. and instead allow these proposed intervenors to participate as amici curiae and participate in oral argument.

Having considered all filings,

IT IS ORDERED that all intervention motions are granted;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the caption in the above-matter shall be amended to designate Governor Tony Evers, in his official capacity, and Nathan Atkinson, Stephen Joseph Wright, Gary Krenz, Sarah J. Hamilton, Jean-Luc Thiffeault, Somesh Jha, Joanne Kane, and Leah Dudley as Intervenor-Petitioners;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the caption in the above-matter shall be further amended to designate Billie Johnson, Eric O'Keefe, Ed Perkins, Ronald Zahn, Chris Goebel, Robert Jensen, Ruth Elmer, Terry Moulton, Joe Sanfelippo, and Ruth Streck as Intervenor-Respondents; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all Wisconsin attorneys participating in this case must each opt in to this case in the appellate court electronic filing system. All Wisconsin attorneys who are not already opted in for this case are hereby ordered to do so as soon as possible and no later than five days from the date of this order.

> Samuel A. Christensen Clerk of Supreme Court

Annemarie McClellan, James McNett, Brittany Muriello, Ela Joosten (Pari) Schils, Nathaniel Slack, Mary Smith-Johnson, Denise (Dee) Sweet, and Gabrielle Young.

Page 3 October 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA

Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Distribution List Continued:

T.R. Edwards Electronic Notice

Mark P. Gaber Electronic Notice

Ruth M. Greenwood Electronic Notice

Steven C. Kilpatrick Electronic Notice

Thomas C. Bellavia Electronic Notice

Charlotte Gibson Electronic Notice

Karla Z. Keckhaver Electronic Notice

Jessie Augustyn Electronic Notice

Tamara Packard Electronic Notice

Eduardo E. Castro Electronic Notice

Annabelle E. Harless Electronic Notice

Brent Ferguson Electronic Notice

Benjamin Phillips Electronic Notice Hayden Johnson Electronic Notice

Nicholas O. Stephanopoulos Electronic Notice

John Freedman Electronic Notice

Elisabeth S. Theodore Electronic Notice

Rachel C. Tucker Electronic Notice

Daniel M. Vitagliano Electronic Notice

Taylor A.R. Meehan Electronic Notice

Kevin M. St. John Electronic Notice

Matthew H. Frederick Electronic Notice

Scott A. Keller Electronic Notice

Gabriela Gonzalez-Araiza Electronic Notice

Adam K. Mortara Electronic Notice

Shannon Grammel Electronic Notice Page 4 October 13, 2023 No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Daniel J. Schneider 2707 W. Augusta Blvd., Unit 2 Chicago, IL 60622

Anthony D. Russomanno Brian P. Keenan Faye B. Hipsman Wisconsin Department of Justice Post Office Box 7857 Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

Mel Barnes Office of Governor Tony Evers Post Office Box 7863 Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7863

Sarah A. Zylstra Tanner G. Jean-Louis Boardman Clark LLP 1 South Pinckney Street, Suite 410 Madison, WI 53701

Jessica Amunson Sam Hirsch Arjun Ramamurti Elizabeth Deutsch Jenner and Clock LLP 1099 New York Ave., NW, Washington, D.C. 20001

Richard M. Esenberg Luke N. Berg Nathalie E. Burmeister Wisconsin Institute For Law & Liberty, Inc. 330 E. Kilbourn Ave., Ste. 725 Milwaukee, WI 53202