FILED
09-13-2023
CLERK OF WISCONSIN
SUPREME COURT

## No. 2023AP001399-OA

## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF WISCONSIN

REBECCA CLARKE, RUBEN ANTHONY, TERRY DAWSON, DANA GLASSTEIN, ANN GROVES-LLOYD, CARL HUJET, JERRY IVERSON, TIA JOHNSON, ANGIE KIRST, SELIKA LAWTON, FABIAN MALDONADO, ANNEMARIE MCCLELLAN, JAMES MCNETT, BRITTANY MURIELLO, ELA JOOSTEN (PARI) SCHILS, NATHANIEL SLACK, MARY SMITH-JOHNSON, DENISE (DEE) SWEET, AND GABRIELLE YOUNG,

Petitioners,

v.

WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION; DON MILLIS, ROBERT F. SPINDELL, JR., MARK L. THOMSEN, ANN S. JACOBS, MARGE BOSTELMANN, AND JOSEPH J. CZARNEZKI, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES AS MEMBERS OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION; MEAGAN WOLFE, IN HER OFFICIAL CAPACITY AS THE ADMINISTRATOR OF THE WISCONSIN ELECTIONS COMMISSION; SENATOR ANDRÉ JACQUE, SENATOR TIM CARPENTER, SENATOR ROB HUTTON, SENATOR CHRIS LARSON, SENATOR DEVIN LEMAHIEU, SENATOR STEPHEN L. NASS, SENATOR JOHN JAGLER, SENATOR MARK SPREITZER, SENATOR HOWARD L. MARKLEIN, SENATOR RACHAEL CABRAL-GUEVARA, SENATOR VAN H. WANGGAARD, SENATOR JESSE L. JAMES, SENATOR ROMAINE ROBERT QUINN, SENATOR DIANNE H. HESSELBEIN, SENATOR CORY TOMCZYK, SENATOR JEFF SMITH, AND SENATOR CHRIS KAPENGA, IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES AS MEMBERS OF THE WISCONSIN SENATE,

Respondents.

JOINT MOTION FOR ADMISSION PRO HAC VICE OF NONRESIDENT ATTORNEY MATTHEW H. FREDERICK

I, Jessie Augustyn, a member in good standing of this Court, respectfully move for the admission pro hac vice of Attorney Matthew H. Frederick to represent Respondents Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Senator Rob Hutton, Senator Andre Jacque, Senator John Jagler, Senator Jesse L. James, Senator Chris Kapenga, Senator Devin LeMahieu, Senator Howard L. Marklein, Senator Stephen L. Nass, Senator Romaine Robert Quinn, Senator Cory Tomczyk, and Senator Van H. Wanggaard in the above-captioned original action.

I, Kevin St. John, a member in good standing of this Court, respectfully move for the admission pro hac vice of Attorney Matthew H. Frederick to represent Proposed Intervenor-Respondent the Wisconsin Legislature in the above-captioned original action.

In support of this motion, we represent as follows:

1. Attorney Frederick is affiliated with my firm, Augustyn Law, LLC, in that we jointly provide legal services to Respondents Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Senator Rob Hutton, Senator Andre Jacque, Senator John Jagler, Senator Jesse L. James, Senator Chris Kapenga, Senator Devin LeMahieu, Senator Howard L. Marklein, Senator Stephen L. Nass,

Senator Romaine Robert Quinn, Senator Cory Tomczyk, and Senator Van H. Wanggaard in this matter.

- 2. Attorney Frederick is affiliated with my firm, Bell Giftos St. John LLC, in that we jointly provide legal services to the Wisconsin Legislature in this matter.
- 3. The Wisconsin Legislature has moved to intervene so that it can participate as a full party in this matter. It has also moved for leave to file an amicus brief and to recuse Justice Protasiewicz.
- 4. Consistent with Wis. SCR 10.03(4)(b)1 and Appendix A-1 to Wis. SCR Ch. 10, Attorney Frederick has completed and submitted his pro hac vice application to the State Bar of Wisconsin to represent the Wisconsin Legislature, Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Senator Rob Hutton, Senator Andre Jacque, Senator John Jagler, Senator Jesse L. James, Senator Chris Kapenga, Senator Devin LeMahieu, Senator Howard L. Marklein, Senator Stephen L. Nass, Senator Romaine Robert Quinn, Senator Cory Tomczyk, and Senator Van H. Wanggaard in this matter. His application is attached hereto, and the representations therein are incorporated into this motion.

5. Attorney Frederick included in his application to the State Bar of Wisconsin fees required by Wis. SCR 10.03(4)(b)2 via credit card. His application, attached hereto, includes proof of payment.

WHEREFORE, we respectfully request that the Court grant this motion and permit Attorney Matthew H. Frederick, a nonresident attorney, to appear before this Court in this matter on behalf of Respondents Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Senator Rob Hutton, Senator Andre Jacque, Senator John Jagler, Senator Jesse L. James, Senator Chris Kapenga, Senator Devin LeMahieu, Senator Howard L. Marklein, Senator Stephen L. Nass, Senator Romaine Robert Quinn, Senator Cory Tomczyk, Senator Van H. Wanggaard, and proposed Intervenor-Respondent the Wisconsin Legislature.

Dated this 13th day of September, 2023.

## Respectfully submitted.

Electronically Signed By <u>Jessie Augustyn</u>

Electronically Signed By Kevin M. St. John

## **AUGUSTYN LAW LLC**

JESSIE AUGUSTYN, SBN 1098680 1835 E. Edgewood Dr. Suite 105-478 Appleton, WI 54913 715.255.0817 jessie@augustynlaw.com BELL GIFTOS ST. JOHN LLC KEVIN M. ST. JOHN, SBN 1054815 5325 Wall Street, Suite 2200 Madison, WI 53718 608.216.7995 kstjohn@bellgiftos.com

Attorney for Respondents Senator Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Senator Rob Hutton, Senator Andre Jacque, Senator John Jagler, Senator Jesse L. James, Senator Chris Kapenga, Senator Devin LeMahieu, Senator Howard L. Marklein, Senator Stephen L. Nass, Senator Romaine Robert Quinn, Senator Cory Tomczyk, and Senator Van H. Wanggaard Attorney for Proposed Intervenor-Respondent The Wisconsin Legislature