OFFICE OF THE CLERK



Supreme Court of Misconsin

110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

January 11, 2022

To:

Richard M. Esenberg Anthony LoCoco Lucas Thomas Vebber Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty 330 East Kilbourn Avenue, Suite 725 Milwaukee, WI 53202-3141

Karla Z. Keckhaver Steven Killpatrick Thomas C. Bellavia Wisconsin Department of Justice P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707-7857 Charles G. Curtis Perkins Coie LLP 33 E. Main St., Ste. 201 Madison, WI 53703-5411

Anthony D. Russomanno Brian P. Keenan Assistant Attorneys General P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707

*Address list continued on page 3.

You are hereby notified that the Court, by its Chief Justice and Clerk, has entered the following order:

No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Pending before the court is an original action filed by petitioners, Billie Johnson, et al. The court having received all filings in accordance with the terms of this court's November 17, 2021 order and its opinion filed November 30, 2021, <u>Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission</u>, 2021 WI 87, and all parties with the exception of Respondents Wisconsin Elections, et al., having elected to participate in oral argument.

IT IS ORDERED that the court will hear oral argument in this matter on Wednesday, January 19, 2022, beginning 9:00 a.m., in the Supreme Court Hearing Room, 2nd Floor, East Wing of the State Capitol, Madison, Wisconsin. The parties will each have 30 minutes of initial oral argument time and an additional 10 minutes for rebuttal. The parties will present their initial arguments in the following sequence:

1. Petitioners Billie Johnson, et al.;

No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

- 2. Intervenor-Respondent Janet Bewley, Senate Democratic Minority Leader, on behalf of the Senate Democratic Caucus;
- 3. Intervenors-Petitioners Black Leaders Organizing for Communities, Voces de la Frontera, League of Women Voters of Wisconsin, Cindy Fallona, Lauren Stephenson, and Rebecca Alwin;
 - 4. Intervenor-Respondent the Wisconsin Legislature;
 - 5. Intervenor-Respondent Governor Tony Evers;
- 6. Intervenors-Petitioners Lisa Hunter, Jacob Zabel, Jennifer Oh, John Persa, Geraldine Schertz, and Kathleen Qualheim;
- 7. Intervenors-Petitioners Gary Krenz, Sarah J. Hamilton, Stephen Joseph Wright, Jean-Luc Thiffeault, and Somesh Jha (a/k/a "Citizen Mathematicians and Scientists"); and
- 8. Intervenors-Petitioners Congressmen Glenn Grothman, Mike Gallagher, Bryan Steil, Tom Tiffany, and Scott Fitzgerald ("Congressmen");

Rebuttal arguments will begin immediately after the conclusion of the initial argument of the Congressmen; rebuttal shall be presented in the same order as the initial arguments;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that a non-party, *amicus curiae* is generally not granted oral argument time in addition to the argument time allotted to the parties, but *amicus curiae* may seek leave to present oral argument if any party cedes them time;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that no later than 12:00 noon on Friday, January 14, 2022, the parties participating in oral argument shall advise the court via an email to the Clerk of Supreme Court at clerk@wicourts.gov, of the name(s) of the attorney(s) who will present argument on their behalf; if more than one attorney will be presenting argument, the parties shall provide the breakdown of oral argument time each attorney will present, including in rebuttal. The subject line of the email shall read: "Urgent: Oral Argument January 19, 2022; 2021AP1450-OA."

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that each party should have back-up counsel available to argue in the event that the designated attorney(s) cannot appear and present oral argument for any reason, on the scheduled oral argument date;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that if any special access, visual or hearing arrangements are necessary for your attendance in court, please advise the Clerk of Supreme Court no later than 12:00 noon on Tuesday, January 18, 2022; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that upon arrival for oral argument, each attorney presenting argument shall check in with the Clerk's office staff outside the Supreme Court Hearing Room.

Sheila T. Reiff Clerk of Supreme Court

Address list continued:

Jeffrey A. Mandell Richard Manthe Douglas M. Poland Carly Gerads Rachel E. Snyder Stafford Rosenbaum LLP P.O. Box 1784 222 West Washington Ave., Suite 900 Madison, WI 53701-1784

Kevin M. St. John Bell Giftos St. John LLC Suite 2200 5325 Wall Street Madison, WI 53718

Daniel R. Suhr Attorney at Law 220 Madero Drive Thiensville, WI 53092

Misha Tseytlin Kevin M. LeRoy Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders LLP Suite 3900 227 W. Monroe St. Chicago, IL 60606 Mel Barnes Law Forward, Inc. P.O. Box 326 Madison, WI 53703

Aria C. Branch
Daniel C. Osher
Jacob D. Shelly
Christina A. Ford
William K. Hancock
Elias Law Group LLP
10 G Street, NE, Suite 600
Washington, D.C. 20002

Annabelle E. Harless Campaign Legal Center 55 W. Monroe St., Ste. 1925 Chicago, IL 60603

Mark P. Gaber Christopher Lamar Simone T. Leeper Campaign Legal Center 1101 14th St. NW, Ste. 400 Washington, D.C. 20005

Adam K. Mortara Lawfair LLC 125 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 300 Chicago, IL 60606 Page 4

January 11, 2022

No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Michael P. May Sarah A. Zylstra Tanner G. Jean-Louis Boardman & Clark, LLP P.O. Box 927 Madison, WI 53701-0927

Tamara B. Packard Aaron G. Dumas Pines Bach, LLP 122 West Washington Ave., Ste. 900 Madison, WI 53703

David J. Bradford Jenner & Block, LLP 353 North Clark St. Chicago, IL 60654

Jeffrey M. Harris Taylor A.R. Meehan James P. McGlone Consovy McCarthy, PLLC 1600 Wilson Blvd., Ste. 700 Arlington, VA 22209

Jakob E. Feltham Hawks Quindel, S.C. P.O. Box 2155 Madison, WI 53703-2155

Ruth M. Greenwood Mary F. Brown Mark R. Haidar Meredith A. Manda Sarah A. Sadlier Corey M. Stewart The Election Law Clinic Harvard Law School 6 Everett Street Cambridge, MA 02138 Elizabeth Edmondson Olivia Hoffman Jenner & Block LLP 919 Third Avenue New York, NY 10022-3902

Jessica R. Amunson Rebecca Fate Sam Hirsch Jenner & Block 1099 New York Ave. NW Washington, DC 20001-4412

John M. Devaney Perkins Coie LLP 700 Thirteenth Street N.W., Suite 800 Washington, D.C. 20005

Alison Boldt Robert Yablon University of Wisconsin Law School 975 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706

Joseph S. Goode Mark M. Leitner John William Halpin Laffey Leitner & Goode 325 E. Chicago Street, Suite 200 Milwaukee, WI 53202