

Office of the Clerk Supreme Court of Misconsin

> 110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

> > TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > > January 4, 2022

Richard M. Esenberg Anthony LoCoco Lucas Thomas Vebber Wisconsin Institute for Law & Liberty 330 East Kilbourn Avenue, Suite 725 Milwaukee, WI 53202-3141

Karla Z. Keckhaver Steven Killpatrick Thomas C. Bellavia Wisconsin Department of Justice P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707-7857 Charles G. Curtis Perkins Coie LLP 33 E. Main St., Ste. 201 Madison, WI 53703-5411

Anthony D. Russomanno Brian P. Keenan Assistant Attorneys General P.O. Box 7857 Madison, WI 53707

*Address list continued on page 3.

You are hereby notified that the Court has entered the following order:

No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Pending before the court is an original action filed by petitioners, Billie Johnson, et al. Briefing is underway and proposed remedial maps were filed on December 15, 2021, in accordance with the terms of this court's November 17, 2021 order and its opinion filed November 30, 2021, Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission, 2021 WI 87. Responses were filed on December 30, 2021.

Together with their response, intervenor-petitioners Congressmen Glenn Grothman, Mike Gallagher, Bryan Steil, Tom Tiffany, and Scott Fitzgerald ("the Congressmen"), filed a motion seeking leave to "submit a modified version of their Proposed Remedial Map for this Court's consideration." The Congressmen's motion states that the Johnson petitioners do not oppose their motion but intervenors-petitioners Governor Tony Evers in his official capacity; Senator Janet Bewley, State Democratic Minority Leader; Citizen Mathematicians and Scientists; Lisa Hunter, et al., and Black Leaders Organizing for Communities, et al., all oppose the motion.

To:

Our order issued November 17, 2021 stated, inter alia that "any party that filed a proposed map and subsequently determines that it merits a correction or modification, may file a motion seeking the court's leave to amend the proposed map. Such motion shall include a description of the amendments, the reasons for them, a proposed amended map, and shall state whether the motion is unopposed by other the parties." Our November 17, 2021 order further advised the parties that the court retained the option of requesting responses from the other parties to such a motion. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the motion of the intervenor-petitioners Congressmen Glenn Grothman, Mike Gallagher, Bryan Steil, Tom Tiffany, and Scott Fitzgerald seeking leave to "submit a modified version of their Proposed Remedial Map for this Court's consideration" is held in abeyance until further order of the court;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that on or before 4:00 p.m. on January 5, 2022, the other parties may file a response to the intervenor-petitioners Congressmen Glenn Grothman, Mike Gallagher, Bryan Steil, Tom Tiffany, and Scott Fitzgerald's motion seeking leave to "submit a modified version of their Proposed Remedial Map for this Court's consideration." The response shall not exceed 10 pages if a monospaced font is used or 2,200 words if a proportional serif font is used, but the parties are encouraged to strive for brevity. The court does not anticipate permitting a reply from the Congressmen and this order does not alter the existing briefing schedule;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all filings in this matter shall be filed as an attachment in pdf format to an email addressed to clerk@wicourts.gov. See Wis. Stat. §§ 809.70, 809.80 and 809.81. A paper original and 10 copies of each filed document must be received by the clerk of this court by 12:00 noon of the business day following submission by email, with the document bearing the following notation on the top of the first page: "This document was previously filed via email."

Sheila T. Reiff Clerk of Supreme Court

Address list continued:

Jeffrey A. Mandell Richard Manthe Douglas M. Poland Carly Gerads Rachel E. Snyder Stafford Rosenbaum LLP P.O. Box 1784 222 West Washington Ave., Suite 900 Madison, WI 53701-1784

Kevin M. St. John Bell Giftos St. John LLC Suite 2200 5325 Wall Street Madison, WI 53718

Daniel R. Suhr Attorney at Law 220 Madero Drive Thiensville, WI 53092

Misha Tseytlin Kevin M. LeRoy Troutman Pepper Hamilton Sanders LLP Suite 3900 227 W. Monroe St. Chicago, IL 60606

Mel Barnes Law Forward, Inc. P.O. Box 326 Madison, WI 53703 Aria C. Branch Daniel C. Osher Jacob D. Shelly Christina A. Ford William K. Hancock Elias Law Group LLP 10 G Street, NE, Suite 600 Washington, D.C. 20002

Annabelle E. Harless Campaign Legal Center 55 W. Monroe St., Ste. 1925 Chicago, IL 60603

Mark P. Gaber Christopher Lamar Simone T. Leeper Campaign Legal Center 1101 14th St. NW, Ste. 400 Washington, D.C. 20005

Adam K. Mortara Lawfair LLC 125 S. Wacker Drive, Suite 300 Chicago, IL 60606

Michael P. May Sarah A. Zylstra Tanner G. Jean-Louis Boardman & Clark, LLP P.O. Box 927 Madison, WI 53701-0927 Page 4 January 4, 2022 No. 2021AP1450-OA Johnson v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Tamara B. Packard Aaron G. Dumas Pines Bach, LLP 122 West Washington Ave., Ste. 900 Madison, WI 53703

David J. Bradford Jenner & Block, LLP 353 North Clark St. Chicago, IL 60654

Jeffrey M. Harris Taylor A.R. Meehan James P. McGlone Consovy McCarthy, PLLC 1600 Wilson Blvd., Ste. 700 Arlington, VA 22209

Jakob E. Feltham Hawks Quindel, S.C. P.O. Box 2155 Madison, WI 53703-2155

Ruth M. Greenwood Mary F. Brown Mark R. Haidar Meredith A. Manda Sarah A. Sadlier Corey M. Stewart The Election Law Clinic Harvard Law School 6 Everett Street Cambridge, MA 02138

Elizabeth Edmondson Olivia Hoffman Jenner & Block LLP 919 Third Avenue New York, NY 10022-3902 Jessica R. Amunson Rebecca Fate Sam Hirsch Jenner & Block 1099 New York Ave. NW Washington, DC 20001-4412

John M. Devaney Perkins Coie LLP 700 Thirteenth Street N.W., Suite 800 Washington, D.C. 20005